«

»

May 18 2015

Blood, Boobs, and Carnage blog fest featuring the novel Red Queen

blood boobs and carnage blogfest bloghop image logo
This is a review and discussion of Victoria Aveyard’s book Red Queen.

As you can see from that picture, I have marked several passages that fall into the categories.
This post will not reveal any spoilers.

 

Perfect quote for this book:

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed, citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”
― Margaret Mead


 

This Young Adult fantasy novel takes place on (what I have reason to believe is) future Earth. The main character is tough and intelligent girl who suffers in poverty because her blood is red. Those with blood of silver rule the world, as they are gifted with great powers.


Why your existing fandom will love this book—


Fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent:

Red Queen has a young female main character who has a difference that makes her special, but will also get her pitted against those who believe they are stronger and better. She’s a bit oblivious to the fact that certain guys have feelings for her. She fights for to make life better for others.

 

Fans of The X-Men:

Mutants rule the world. They easily identify each other because they all have silver blood. Then one girl with red blood appears and throws a wrench in the whole overlord system.

 

Fans of fairy tales:

It’s Beauty and the Beast, except there is more there are two beasts, and Belle turns out to be far more than just a girl from the village. (Bonus! Someone in Red Queen does have a massive book collection.)

Library from Disney's Beauty and the Beast
 

 

Blood, blood everywhere, and red drops mean you stink

 

The book is based on blood. In fact, the cover image is an upside-down crown with red blood dripping off of it. Here are a few excerpts:

  • This is the true division between Silvers and Reds: the color of our blood. This simple difference somehow makes them stronger, smarter, better than us.
  • As the blood gushes from (spoiler), gasps echo across the arena. We’ve never seen so much blood here before.
  • “I’ve never heard of a blood healer before.” “You wouldn’t have, since they’re not allowed to fight in the arenas. There’s simply no point to them doing it.”
  • When I pull back, a silver blush paints his cheeks. I can feel my own blood run hot beneath my skin, pounding in my ears.
  • I push back from the murdered woman, but my hands slide through a mixture of silverblood and wine. A scream escapes me in a terrifying combination of frustration and grief. The blood clings to my hands, like it knows what I’ve done. It’s sticky and cold and everywhere, trying to drown me.
  • “The blood database. Any Red born within a hundred miles of civilization gets sampled at birth. Started out as a project to understand exactly what the difference is between us, but ended up just another way to put a collar on your people.”…

 

Boobs, pecks, or maybe other arousing imagery

 

The main character is a female young adult. While boobs aren’t directly mentioned, it’s assumable that she has them. Scenes for this category were difficult to find, so it’s more a selection which could be turned into “boob moments” by Hollywood. And a pecks passage. Here you go:

  • My uniform is not so lucky, barely holding together in a charred mess.
  • Unfortunately, that happens to be his chest and much-too-thin shirt.

 

Books are boobs with one letter changed, right?

This isn’t a category for this blog fest! Yeah, I know. But I believe book porn and beautiful prose have the same “implied spirit” as boobs. Do you agree?

  • My next instructor waits for me in a room cluttered from floor to ceiling with more books than I’ve ever seen, more books than I ever thought existed. They look old and completely priceless.
  • The door shuts behind her with a slam, shaking the framed maps in their glass prisons.

 

Carnage implies the slaughter of many

 

There’s plenty! On to some examples:

  • Only Silvers can fight in the arenas because only Silvers can survive the arena.
  • Dad was injured at the Choke years ago, when a bomb dropped on his unit. Now the Choke is so destroyed by decades of battle, the smoke of explosions is a constant fog and nothing can grow there. It’s dead and gray, like the future of the war.
  • Their lives are so terrible that the war is a better alternative, and they’re not even allowed to go.
  • “The south is radiated.”… “You know what it does? Radiation?” He sounds truly afraid.
  • …”I’m afraid of what happens if nothing in this world ever changes.” He turns hot under my touch, driven by an inner resolve. “That scares me more than dying.”
  • The sound of gunfire and screams and blood in the tunnels rumbles in my mind. They are dead. We are dead. It is over.

 


Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

The book does stand alone, but I’m hoping for it to become a series. The themes presented in Red Queen are relatable. One more story of oppression, of the 1 percent lording over the 99 should be eye-rolling and dull — but this book makes it feel fresh and exciting! Another fairytale with the poor girl catching the eye of the handsome prince should be a snoozefest — but the twist and turns of Red Queen turn it into a thriller. Books are supposed to have one climax, but this book has a new climax every few chapters. There’s some beautiful foreshadowing. Poetic prose snuck in a few times and took my breath away. This book is utterly magnificent. I’ll be in line for the midnight release of the movie or the next book — hopefully both. Yes, it really is that good.

Thank you, Alex and Heather Gardner for this blog fest.


WRiTECLUB 2015 . Rafflecopter Giveaway
WRiTECLUB 2015 is now open!
Vote for a 500-word story today.


Please share this post on social media.

36 comments

Skip to comment form

  1. A Daft Scots Lass

    Sounds intriguing. I’m thoroughly enjoying today’s Blogfest.
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Thanks.
      Find on Twitter:

  2. Chrys Fey

    I have been wanting to read this book! And your post just makes me want to read it even more! 😀
    Chrys Fey has this post to share Writing About: An AlleyMy Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      You totally should. It doesn’t disappoint.
      Find on Twitter:

  3. Tamara Narayan

    What a great cover too.
    Tamara Narayan has this post to share Blood, Boobs, and Carnage BlogfestMy Profile

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      I agree. The artist did a great job.
      Find on Twitter:

  4. Heather M. Gardner

    I’ve heard of this book, but haven’t read it. Your review is really great and makes me want to get it very soon!!!

    THANK YOU for joining Alex and me in this EPIC blogfest!
    Heather M. Gardner
    Heather M. Gardner has this post to share Blood, Boobs & Carnage Blogfest!!!!! & Release Day for Connie L. Smith!My Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Thanks for having the blogfest! They’re so fun.
      Find on Twitter:

  5. Arlee Bird

    I’m not familiar with this book, but you are obviously a big fan. That was a pretty in depth analysis.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    Road trippin’ with A to Z
    Arlee Bird has this post to share Blood, Boobs, and Carnage Blogfest (TIO Edition)My Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Finished it last week. Loved it! Thanks for stopping in.
      Find on Twitter:

  6. C.Lee McKenzie

    This is a great choice for the hop. I love that Boobs and Books are so close in spelling. Have to be on my guard about that from now on. I’m a rotten speller.
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Grammarly has a new and improved grammar and spell check add on for Chrome with a Word download. That might help. Glad you enjoyed the post.
      Find on Twitter:

  7. S. L. Hennessy

    My friend just recommended this one to me. Good choice for the B,B&C Blogfest!
    S. L. Hennessy has this post to share Blood, Boobs and Carnage BlogfestMy Profile

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Thanks so much.
      Find on Twitter:

  8. Alex J. Cavanaugh

    Books are boobs with one letter changed – funny!
    Thanks for participating in our blogfest.
    Alex J. Cavanaugh has this post to share Mad Max Fury Road Review and Blood Boobs and Carnage Blogfest! Plus Nightcrawler and Pompeii Reviews, Dragon News, and Ninja NewsMy Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      I am to please. Thanks for having a blogfest!
      Find on Twitter:

  9. Roland Yeomans

    Your review really makes me want to read this book now. Do you think it will be turned into a movie one day?
    Roland Yeomans has this post to share BLOOD, BOOBS, CARNAGE, AND MERCY THOMPSONMy Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Honestly yes, I firmly believe that it will become a movie.
      Find on Twitter:

  10. Li

    Great review! Recommending this to a co-worker tomorrow. 🙂
    Li has this post to share The End Of the School Year Is Upon Us… (humor)My Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Sweet!
      Find on Twitter:

  11. Susan Gourley

    I’m not a fan of most YA books but that one sounds exciting and complex.
    Susan Gourley has this post to share Blood, Boobs and Carnage BlogfestMy Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      I thought it was pretty good. Complex, but not so complex that readers are going to feel lost.
      Find on Twitter:

  12. dolorah

    Hmm, looks like a book I’d enjoy.
    dolorah has this post to share BLOOD, BOOBS AND CARNAGE blogfestMy Profile

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Glad to make a reading connection for you! 🙂
      Find on Twitter:

  13. M.R.R.

    Maybe I’ll read it at some point.
    M.R.R. has this post to share Album Review:I’m Not DeadMy Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Cool. Thanks for stopping in.
      Find on Twitter:

  14. Misha

    It’s a striking cover, and the story intrigues me. 🙂
    Misha has this post to share A to Z of Things Writers Should Know About Writing: ObjectivesMy Profile
    Find on Twitter:

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Glad you enjoyed!
      Find on Twitter:

  15. anna (herding cats & burning soup)

    I’ve heard so many crazy good things about this one over the months. It’s on my list for hopefully one day 😀
    anna (herding cats & burning soup) has this post to share Chase Me (Broke and Beautiful #1) by Tessa BaileyMy Profile

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      You’ve heard crazy good because it IS crazy good. I wish I could read it for the first time all over again.
      Find on Twitter:

  16. Doctor Who Fan

    Your review is hilarious! And the Red Queen has an eerie enough title I might just have to check it out.
    Doctor Who Fan has this post to share Doctor Who Fathers Day Gifts page 2My Profile

    1. J Lenni Dorner

      Thanks. It was a great book.
      Find on Twitter:

  17. Lisa

    Artist is mind blowing, he knew how to cover this
    Lisa has this post to share Dangerous (Element Preservers, #1) by Alycia LinwoodMy Profile

  18. ruuke

    Well performed covering in the book …ruuke

  19. Most Beautiful Women

    This is Really great Blog i Really Like to Read this its all About the Facts Of great Information Thanks for sharing great Post.

  20. Most Beautiful Women

    This is really amazing great blog i really like to read this its all about the facts of great information thanks for sharing great post.

Comments have been disabled.

%d bloggers like this: