Aug 22 2016

#boutofbooks 17 Bout of Books Day 1

Bout of Books@JLenniDorner is a #boutofbooks expert





To kick of #boutofbooks 17, I read a book by a debut author I’ve interviewed.
4 star rating image on the blog of @JLenniDorner
The power, energy, and feel of rock concerts seep out of the beginning of this New Adult book. Can one step out of life, take a vacation from who they are, and then waltz back in as if nothing happened? The book explores what it’s like to have lost yourself and embark on the quest to either find yourself or redefine yourself. It asks how big is the gray area of what feminism means to different people.


A stereotype is dismantled when Jewish Josie isn’t great with money. She even passes on a considerable sum that she’d have the rights to, and turns down an offered opportunity from her ex to potentially make a fortune.


There’s a British rock star with an accent that makes everything he says “sound like a sin.” Rarely seen in books: there’s a minor character named Josephina and a main character named Josephine.

Fans of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist will get a “Where’s Fluffy?” flashback. (I know I did.) The site “hashtag kissing dot com,” I’m sorry to say, is not an actual site. Nor is “All the Queen’s Men” an actual chess app that I could find.


Who’s your mom? “The soccer mom,” “soft and lovable,” “glamorous socialite,” or the “overachieving, helicoptering, perfectionist.” They all show up in this book.


My favorite part is when Josie asks people if they could do anything right now, what would they do?


A few steamy between-the-sheets (and other locations) scenes give it 3 out of 5 flames on the heat meter. (Do I have a heat meter? Guess I do now.)


Favorite quotes:
“It used to be an effort to dive off the tower of academic excellence– mentally correcting improper grammar and general verbal idiocy– and plunge my mind into the gutter. Now it’s almost too easy.”
“Have fun people, have fun. Live your lives. Time isn’t waiting for you. You are here to entertain yourselves.”
“They say water is good for cleaning dishes and for putting out homophobic fires. … I have no tolerance for intolerance.”
“It penetrates the layer of reality we convince ourselves we dwell in and carries us into a frenzy, into a wondrous fury, transcending the point of doubt that begs us, every morning, when we fight to waking, to ask is this all there is?”
“This is my hope– to spread peace, love, and debauchery.”
“In ten minutes, a kaleidoscope of fresh paper surrounds me, all holding the potential of ink-revealing stories and secrets.”
“Well, well, Josie. My favorite pussycat.”


CHALLENGE

My favorite book to movie adaptation =
. I’m ready for the “magic bus.” 😉


My absolute least favorite/most hated adaptation ever =
. Throwing table rage image



@JLenniDorner is the Interviewer for the Operation Awesome blog Debut Author Spotlight on Wednesdays Would you please take a moment to share the debut author image? It would mean a great deal not only to me, but to any debut author who is interviewed as a result. Thanks so much!


I’ll be there for the Twitter chat tonight. Will you?


Socialize online with J Lenni Dorner:

Follow @JLenniDorner on Twitter please WhatAreThey is J Lenni Dorner's Facebook fan page so please Like it Check out J Lenni Dorner at Operation Awesome please Follow JLenniDorner on Pinterest please Follow and friend J Lenni Dorner on Goodreads please Please visit the author page of J Lenni Dorner on Amazon Please visit author J Lenni Dorner on Smashwords Become a NaNoWriMo buddy J Lenni Dorner please Please find J Lenni Dorner on BookTropolousSocial BookLikes user @JLenniDorner 50 book pledge user J Lenni Dorner Please add Author J Lenni Dorner on G+ Google Plus Please visit J Lenni Dorner on Quotes Rain Please connect with J Lenni Dorner on LinkedIn Please follow J Lenni Dorner on Tumblr Find J Lenni Dorner on AboutMe Networked Blog @JLenniDorner Linky Followers @JLenniDorner Bloglovin

3 comments

    • Maggie on August 23, 2016 at 2:05 PM

    I’m kind of glad to know I am not the only person who has been sorely disappointed with the film adaptations of the Divergent series. (I am not sure how you felt about the first two – I personally was let down by all three!)
    Find on Twitter:

    1. It was the ending of the third. Peter’s character arc, especially, which just… *spoilers and curses* I seriously want the director to personally give me my money back, because that’s who bragged about making such ludicrous decisions.

  1. Hope you’re having a good time with the event!
    anna has this post to share Tasty Delights– Asparagus & Tomato “Carbonara”My Profile

Comments have been disabled.

%d bloggers like this: