Aug 24 2017

#BoutOfBooks 20 Read-a-Thon #RAT Book Review and If You Like This Try That #challenge

#boutofbooks august 2017

I’m taking part in the Bout of Books 20 Read-a-thon from August 21 to 27.

You may even find a challenge over there on Friday, Aug 25, created by yours truly!

Birthday celebrating reader, writer, author interviewer. #InSixWords

My goals for Bout of Books 20 are not just to read a lot of books (I’m hoping to read and review at least 5), but also to connect! So if you’re taking part as well, or if you love to read and have some social media accounts, let me know!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, August 21 and runs through Sunday, August 27 in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 19 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. – From the Bout of Books team

I missed the Twitter chat on Monday because I was out celebrating my birthday. #BetterLateThanNever #BoutOfBooks

Challenge

If you like this, try that . . .

Put your recommendations hat on, #boutofbooks-ers. For this challenge, pick a book, author, or trope (or whatever!) from your TBR and suggest similar books.

Tool & Die: A Home Repair is Homicide Mystery by Sarah Graves
The Miniature Golf Course Murders By Sara Penhallow

MY DAY 3 (Wednesday) PROGRESS

Book Review

The Snowman: Prequel to the Detective Quaid Mysteries by Yolanda Renée 5 star rating image on the blog of @JLenniDorner

#NewToMe2017 I haven’t read this book, or a full book, by this author before.
#3736 in Kindle Store > Kindle eBooks > Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Mystery > Police Procedurals
#6580 in Books > Mystery, Thriller & Suspense > Mystery > Police Procedurals

I enjoyed reading this book, though I rarely crack the spine on Police Procedurals. There was a good amount of horror mixed in, and that’s something I truely enjoy. The author puts the reader in the head of both the psycho serial killer and the detective. It’s very dark, the motivation behind the violence is plausible, and it all feels realistic.

Here’s a part I loved from Chapter XV (15) : In the mountains, south of Anchorage, the snow twirled in ghost-like dances. To Stone’s delight, Darla’s blood flowed like molasses in the deepening cold.

I was surprised the killer was okay with the nickname the news gave, given he’d picked out his own (Maestro of Death).

As it was my birthday this week, I got a kick out of this line:
“I’m thirty years old for Christ’s sake—I’m too old for birthday parties.”

I’ll end this review with the scene from Chapter XVI (16) that put me (a Lenni-Lenape) over the top, and resulted in my giving this book the full five-star rating:
“Well if it isn’t our newest Eskimo detective, won a promotion because his skin is native brown,” John Maverick said slowly, enunciating each word. Steven’s hand fisted.
Steven accepted the gesture. “I’m Tlingit Indian, but I understand the confusion. Italian, French, or Irish, so hard to tell the difference.”

Challenge Progress

Finished
Elementals: The Prophecy of Shadows by Michelle Madow
Ten Dollar Dinners: 140 Recipes & Tips to Elevate Simple, Fresh Meals Any Night of the Week by Melissa d’Arabian
The Snowman: Prequel to the Detective Quaid Mysteries by Yolanda Renée

1 comment

    • Erin on August 24, 2017 at 8:25 PM

    Sorry you missed the chat. Was fun, but I don’t think I can make the next one

    Have fun with the rest of the read-a-thon
    Find on Twitter:

Comments have been disabled.

%d bloggers like this: